MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

Unto Us a Child is Born (and thus, a truth)

This past Friday, May 6, 2011 my daughter was born weighing just over 6 lbs! She is a tiny bundle of joy and we couldn’t be happier!

As she sleeps, sleeps, sleeps, eats, sleeps, sleeps, poos, sleeps, pees, sleeps, sleeps, eats, and sleeps… one phrase keeps surfacing out of my mouth over and over again.

She’s amazing. 

Amazing.

Amazing?!

How can anything that does just about nothing be considered amazing?

I don’t know.  This is the mystery and beauty of a new life.  Something within me is stirred to a place of wonder, awe, gratitude, peace, giddyness, and joy —

All from staring at a newborn who’s only job description right now is to simply be

Maybe this is just a little bit too simplistic (or too profound?!) but I think that’s a task in life I need to embrace every once in a while: to just be.

When I am who I am (or as Popeye would say, I Yam What I Yam), I think the universe rejoices.

It’s good to know that even on our days (or seasons) of doing seemingly nothing but eat, sleep, and s—, our mere existence has brought a smile to someone’s face– whether it be our parents, lovers, or God.

I think I know a little more of what it means when I hear that a Father rejoices over me, sings over me, and loves me just as I am.  I suppose it takes one to know one.

How is it that such little things can point us to such great truth and beauty?

4 responses

  1. your baby is a gift, our lives are a gift. to just be is a gift. let’s be gifts to each other, for we are all gifts.

    May 11, 2011 at 2:47 pm

  2. Yes yes and yes! Isn’t she lovely… isn’t she beautiful… I’m so happy for you and Sadie and Micah.

    May 11, 2011 at 5:48 pm

  3. Shockley

    What an amazing photo of an amazing little baby girl

    May 11, 2011 at 11:35 pm

  4. Amy

    I love her already.

    May 12, 2011 at 8:04 am

Leave a Reply

