MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

I Love Sports . . . but not THIS much

I think fanaticism is great.  Everyone needs a healthy obsession to get more out of life.

Those who know me best know that I’m one of the biggest Laker fans out there.

My buddy always reminds me of the time we were watching an intense tape-recorded game (pre-DVR era) in our dorm room our freshman year in school.  He had fallen asleep only to be woken up in the 4th quarter to the sound of hollering and rousing applause which is otherwise normal when sports is involved—if it wasn’t for the fact that I was the only other person in the room and the standing ovation was from me.  Just me.

Several years later when the Lakers lost game 4 of the 2008 NBA Finals against the Celtics after blowing a 24 point lead, I literally went on a rampage.  I stormed out of our apartment and started punching the walls and screaming into the air while attempting to suppress my anger the best I could by biting my fists.  With shame I admit that I lost my salvation for a good 30 minutes that night and my wife was horrified.  God bless her soul.

Over the years, my wife has played a big part in toning my fanaticism down, possibly for the better.  Now that I have a baby boy whose nap and sleeping schedules run through Laker games, I have gotten really good at screaming into pillows and silent fist-pumping to suppress my frustration and joy respectively.

So this brings me to the sad story of Bryan Stow.

Bryan is currently in a medically induced coma after suffering a brutal attack at the hands of some idiots who didn’t agree with his choice of garb.  This was not a gang fight though it sounds like one.  Bryan is a San Francisco Giants fan and he thought he would show his support for the team by wearing a Giants jersey . . . to Dodger Stadium.  This sounds like a bad idea but people do it all the time and when others say “You’d better watch your back!  You got a lotta nerve wearing that here!” it’s normally done in good humor.

Bryan was attacked after the game at Dodger Stadium and now his children are on the verge of losing their father.  It is senseless and tragic.

I love basketball but not this much.

It’s scary to think that things like this take place almost every day.  Think of all the horrible things that are done to other human beings in the name of defending a flag, a set of values, or whatever it is that we choose to place our allegiance or trust in.

As much as we want to identify with Bryan Stow in this story, the lesson is not “be careful what you wear to the ball park.”  It is rather, “beware of the outcome of your fanaticism.”

Think about  your obsessions and consider whether or not one or more of these cause more harm than good… to you and those around you.  It might be time to make some changes.

The Dodger fans who beat Bryan Stow might have benefited from a good, serious confrontation from one of their loved ones when they punched their HD TV after every loss.  (I admit that this is a major assumption on my end but maybe not a very far-fetched one)

It’s often painful for me to suppress my emotions during Laker games but for the sake of my marriage, I’ll take the emotional constipation.

8 responses

  1. LADodger2011

    Agreed, it is rediculous to think that things could go that far at a sports game. There is nothing wrong with supporting your team on the road, that’s what makes sports so great, the competition and rivalry. I was glad to see the Dodgers and Giants adress the matter before their next game.

    April 19, 2011 at 11:10 am

  2. DK

    LADodger2011 – thanks for the note. although it would kill me to see Celtic fans at a Laker game, the furthest I would go is probably friendly banter… you’re right about this type of thing being part of what makes sports great!

    April 19, 2011 at 4:30 pm

  3. annyongbunny10

    Lol, nice reaction to the game. XD

    Yeah its kind of sad the way people react over small things. i mean beating someone up just cause of a shirt their wearing thats just plain wrong… 😥

    Im not a big sports fan but the same thing happens in the music industry too, fans say that love their artists and stuff and soon they get over obssed and end up hurting innocent by standers or the artists themselves.

    April 19, 2011 at 6:30 pm

  4. annyongbunny10

    I hope bryan get better soon! ^_^

    April 19, 2011 at 6:35 pm

  5. Those “Dodger fans” that attacked him deserve to go to jail…i can’t believe that…when I heard that…I felt like that’s worse than an actual boxing match or even maybe a prison fight… Coma!?!? Good Lord, I hope those guys are caught…I also the kids get their daddy back soon…

    And thanks for waking me up with the personal standing ovation

    April 19, 2011 at 11:38 pm

  6. What small small lives some people have to be so caught up in a sport – not even as an athlete but a fan- that they’d actually be ready to kill. Crazy!

    April 20, 2011 at 12:24 am

  7. DK

    @bunny – in moments like these, it’s a good thing you’re not a big sports fan. unfortunately many idiotic and non-sensical moments take place every day in the sports world!

    @abe – yeah, i think jail time might do a little good for these guys. i would suggest that instead of the normal prison wear, we dress them in Dodger jerseys and send them to a prison near the bay. Maybe Alcatraz? we can make that prison run again, right? maybe this is too harsh a sentence…

    @pat – yes, mind-numbingly dumb!

    April 20, 2011 at 11:23 am

  8. Even with a 180 degree feysihe lens I wouldn’t have been able to get that shot. I had to turn pretty far to get Tommy and Liam in, wouldn’t be able to get both of them in without moving a couple rows back, but then I’d just have the back of their heads. Even if I got it framed the way I wanted distortion would change the style a lot. Stitching distorted feysihe shots together looks pretty funny.I’m getting some practice in for Hawaii, want to get some nice panoramic shots to make some nice large prints to frame. Lot of crazy stuff like nodal points and stuff to worry about so objects on the edge of the frames line up correctly.

    December 7, 2012 at 3:58 am

Leave a Reply

