MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

This is Not a Christian Blog

This is not a Christian blog.

I think it would be very easy to gear and fashion my posts to fit this mold, but I don’t think we need another “Christian” blog. There’s enough good ones out there anyway!

 

Some may find this disappointing, especially when you know that I am technically a “missionary” in Mexico City and recall that I was a worship pastor at a pretty amazing church.

If you have been reading my blog and you never knew this, I hope this revelation isn’t shocking or detrimental to our online relationship.  Stick around, please! I have more to share.  I love you.  I need you!  You complete me.

I think there are many amazing blogs out there that are more blatantly “Christian” but I just don’t feel like that’s my “calling” as a blogger… or as a person.  Call it a conviction?

I’m also sure that there are a lot of great blogs out there written by atheists, agnostics, Jews, Muslims, Hindus and people who are far-removed from any sort of faith background. As for me, I can’t deny or hide the fact that I’m pretty heavily influenced by Jesus.  He’s my homie, He’s changed my life.

This blog is neither Christian nor atheist. I write about things that matter to me and hopefully to the society at large.  I just write and my values ooze out in the posts.  Grace, redemption, love, freedom, justice, humor, and (at times righteous) anger.  Christian is who I am, not the agenda I push or the blog I write.  I don’t need to slap a label on anything or wear a banner that shows I belong to some sort of club or belief system.

I think it takes a bit of courage as well as discipline to venture out of one’s subculture to intersect with the world at large.

We could use a few more blogs (and people) who are willing to engage people from all walks of life.  We need words of love, hope and inspiration to reach far outside of any bubble or barrier we unknowingly (or knowingly) create.  This requires writers to choose our words carefully and avoid content and jargon that is merely understood by a few.  Code language.  Drop it.

This is a challenge that not enough people of faith are choosing to accept.  They would rather say what’s “Biblical” without connecting with the world, get a few “amens” (perhaps in the form of a dozen comments) and call it a night. Easy if you ask me.

**It’s ok if you disagree because these are just my opinions, not facts… although I sometimes wish my words became facts.  That would be freakin sweet.**

So all that to say, I relish the challenge of writing about things that matter culturally and spiritually, and I love trying to communicate in ways that invites anyone to participate and understand.  I want to link the divide between pop-culture and faith, between atheism and “Christianity.”  I want to challenge everyone to think deeper, to communicate clearer, to help make this world a better place and become fans of the Los Angeles Lakers.  (last part optional)

So whether that’s Christian or not “Christian” enough is besides the point.  Call this blog whatever you want! I’m thankful you read it and find it worthwhile.

Maybe you have something to say on this?  What scenarios do you see some of these challenges at play in your own lives?  And more importantly, do you agree or disagree with me?  Because if you disagree with me, you are no longer welcome here… just kidding.

9 responses

  1. robin

    I agree. If it was just another generic Christian blog, I don’t think I would necessarily follow it. I have my couple Christian blogs that I like, so nothing against them. But with all the Christian blogs already out there, someone is probably doing ‘it’ better than you could, anyway. But nobody could do this blog better than you, because your passions fuel it. Why squelch those things you care about to be another sheep?

    April 7, 2011 at 8:11 am

  2. DK

    robin – i think that’s a good point you make about being fueled by passion and doing what’s authentically “us.” Definitely nothing against writers who choose to address a particular subculture… as long as every once in a while, some choose to expand the audience a little bit!

    April 7, 2011 at 9:47 am

  3. annyongbunny10

    Dude I totally agree with u. It nice to see someone finally being them selves for once , and actually talking about real life.

    for this lent my goal was to be super spiritual, but in the end god proved me wrong … haha

    It’s not about being super spiritual but
    rather being real and relatable.^^

    Don’t worry I’ll still read your blogs if nobody else doesn’t , cause I think they are awesome cool.^_^

    April 7, 2011 at 11:44 am

  4. DK

    bunny – there’s nothing wrong with being spiritual. it’s just that often times we equate spirituality with a particular way of thinking and speaking when it is so much more than that. i think we limit ourselves (and God) when we slap labels on everything we do and say. thanks for your unwavering support!

    April 7, 2011 at 12:03 pm

  5. it’s not a Christian blog because it’s not solely about Christianity… but the author is a Christian so parts of that come through. But in the same way that P.O.D. (or U2, some would say) is not a Christian band, it doesn’t mean its message is to be discredited in any way. Generally, I find it means people are more open to hearing that person’s opinion in the first place

    April 7, 2011 at 12:41 pm

  6. DK

    Jeff- as they say in Christian construction circles, I think you hit the nail on the head!

    April 7, 2011 at 12:49 pm

  7. Ashley Wo

    I guess I don’t know what Christian blogs are. A blog that only talks about the bible and God etc? At any rate, if your blog only had bible verses and ways to live those out, I might not read it. I like blogs from people who are just writing to be heard. Whether they just vent, tell stories, share memories, or just write to have a creative outlet, I enjoy them all. I’m glad your blog isn’t just a Christian blog, but rather an insightful blog written from a Jesus loving dude. =)

    April 7, 2011 at 6:17 pm

  8. DK

    ashley – yeah i know what you mean. that’s why I have quotes around “Christian” throughout my post because the term can get so subjective and confusing at times. thanks for getting what i’m trying to convey!

    April 7, 2011 at 8:50 pm

  9. This is not a Christian comment! It’s a Christiano Ronaldo comment! I hope he comes back to the EPL, preferably Manchester United! Don’t forget to catch Man Utd vs Chelsea in game 2 of their Champions League battle on Tues 11:45am PT. I guess in the end it was a Chicharito plug!

    April 8, 2011 at 2:14 am

Leave a Reply

