MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

DKdanielkim.com is giving away iTunes and Kindle Gift Cards!!

**I am going to give away some iTunes music and apps, as well as iBooks or Kindle reads but you must read this thoroughly to find out how!**


Hi Friends,

First of all, I want to say thank you for those of you who have been following my blog, especially during the last few weeks!  This giveaway is for you!

In lieu of a regular post today, I want to get a little bit serious and have a DK blog town hall with you.  As you know, I have been on a tear recently with new daily blog posts that started on Ash Wednesday (the start of the Lent season) and I must be honest with you, it’s been challenging but incredibly fun and invigorating as well.  I just might continue this trend (but a little more toned down) even after the 40 day period is over.

When I started this commitment to blog daily, I wanted to do it for me.  I didn’t care who would read my posts or who wouldn’t, I just wanted to get my thoughts out there and dedicate myself to the discipline of writing.

This is half true.

As much as bloggers will say that they do it for themselves, they also hope that others would engage in their thoughts and contribute to the greater discussion that they want to facilitate through their posts.

Ever since I started the daily routine, my blog has been averaging around 110 daily hits with a spike of 2oo+.  This is not a very impressive number for those of you who sell ads on your pages but considering I’m not famous, it’s not bad!  Of the 110+ hits I receive daily, only about 2 of you decide to actually engage on the topic and leave a comment on my page. What this tells me is that this blog has its share of devoted readers (THANK YOU!) but very, very few choose to take it to another level and contribute.  I’m not upset about this. . . I just want more of you!

Consider this my Stimulus (and Thank You) Plan:

Starting today with this VERY post, I will be holding a contest which will end on Monday, April 25 at 11:59 PM PT and 2 random winners will be announced the next day.  How do you qualify?  Very simple.  Just react by leaving a note in the comments section whenever you feel compelled to or feel like it (Mon-Friday) after reading my post for the day.

“WHY RANDOM WINNERS?” Well, if there are 2 clear winners (meaning, 2 people who have left the most comments), the prizes will go to them.  The prizes will be random in the event that there is a tie.

“DO MULTIPLE COMMENTS ON THE SAME BLOG COUNT?” While I really appreciate and welcome you helping me moderate the comments, only 1 “point” will be given per day.

“CAN I LEAVE A COMMENT EVERY DAY?” Sure!  Although, I understand that sometimes you will have nothing to say or that occasionally a post will seem lame to you (we’re all entitled to our opinions!) so you don’t have to always force a comment out… but some others may do it anyway, and you’ll lose…

“WHAT ARE THE PRIZES?”

This is a blog on MUSIC, LEADERSHIP and CULTURE.  That’s why the 2 winners will have their choice of an iTunes gift card (books, music, and apps!) OR a Kindle gift card.  You must also know that although I wish I could spring for a much more lucrative amount, the prizes will be worth $15 each and they will be sent electronically since I am all the way here in Mexico City!  The phrase “better than nothing!” really is appropriate here.

So what do you say?  I think this is a pretty easy way to score some free music and books!

Oh, and by the way, consider today’s post an opportunity for you to “register” into this contest and receive 5 points.  Yes, today’s comments are worth 5 points instead of the normal 1.  Do it.

With Love,

DK

18 responses

  1. Robin

    Ok, you’re on. I am going to start replying to your posts! Not for the giftcard, but because I read your posts almost every day, and have never replied. I don’t know why, except that it just never occurred to me to put in my two cents.

    Your letter to Charlie Sheen and your fake conversation with that “friday” girl were both touching, but funny. I am personally really excited about the launch of iChange.

    Keep writing… probably everyone else is the same way, they just never thought about it enough to engage.

    April 6, 2011 at 8:23 am

  2. DK

    Hey Robin! i’m really looking forward to your input! thanks for choosing to take on the “challenge”!

    April 6, 2011 at 9:48 am

  3. Shock Star

    I love it! So you’re telling me there’s a chance?! I know I’ve been one of those two before. Keep the posts coming!

    April 6, 2011 at 9:49 am

  4. DK

    Yessir!

    April 6, 2011 at 10:10 am

  5. This is a really great idea. I haven’t been on your blog in a while and decided to visit it today and I’m glad that I did. I’m really looking foward to readying your thoughts, stories, and more.

    April 6, 2011 at 10:40 am

  6. Donna Lea

    Hi DK-I’ve been reading your blog almost everyday because I enjoy hearing your 2 cents and I think your writing is good. I’m not on iTunes and I don’t have a Kindle (does this mean I live under a rock? haha), so while the challenge is interesting, it’s not for me. But, I just wanted to let you know that I appreciate your blog. So, keep ’em coming!

    April 6, 2011 at 11:06 am

  7. DK

    @sandy – good to have you back!
    @donna – thank you! that means a lot to me!

    April 6, 2011 at 11:43 am

  8. Great idea DK! I enjoy reading your posts, even though some of them are occasionally quite random 😉

    Only a few more weeks of Lent, so keep it up!

    April 6, 2011 at 1:51 pm

  9. annyongbunny10

    Yay look you got more comments, congratulations! ^_^

    I love reading your posts, they are so much fun to read. Sometimes they are fun and sometimes they are serious,but I know that you put so much of your heart in each one. It’s something really beautiful to see.

    I kind of know how you feel about the whole starting of the blog thing.That’s the same way I felt when I started my twitter, I just wanted to have a place where I could just write down my random thoughts. In the end I found out that people were following me. I think the weirdest thing of all was that they were all mostly like church leader people, it gave me a shock. That was something that I wasn’t expecting in a million years. 0_0

    But in the end it really feels nice to have a place to wright down my thoughts and kind of inspire people too. 🙂

    I guess all i want to say to you is “Good Job and Good Luck!Keep on following your heart!” ^_-

    April 6, 2011 at 2:33 pm

  10. annyongbunny10

    oh yeah and good luck with the lent! ^^

    April 6, 2011 at 2:34 pm

  11. Chiara

    Yay! Don’t feel bad, our ministry page rarely gets over 100 hits. The days that we do get over 100, it’s because people getting our email newsletter click the links >.< But, keep this up! 😀

    April 6, 2011 at 10:04 pm

  12. Ashley Wo

    I actually only read your blog, no one else. I think because I see posts on facebook so i check it out. I enjoy your insight, creativity, and your enthusiasm to get more readers. Regardless of a prize, i will still read and comment. Good luck to everyone!

    April 6, 2011 at 11:57 pm

  13. Today I learned about RSS readers on iPad from one of my students…easier access to all my fave blogs, including this one of course, I love iTunes gift cards 🙂

    April 8, 2011 at 2:11 am

  14. Anne

    hi dk! i also read your blog daily and really appreciate your thoughts! you are great with your words (which i guess is obviously why you’re a song writer) and your thoughts are always insightful. i, like donna, am not looking to try to win the gift but just want you to know that i’m a faithful reader and appreciate your blog! i seriously give props to people who are able to blog daily and post meaningful things because i know it’s not always easy and you’re basically putting yourself out there for the world to see! so yea, thanks for your sharing and i hope that more people learn about your blog so that they can be inspired and enjoy too! 🙂

    April 8, 2011 at 10:03 pm

  15. DK

    @jeffro – random is my middle name!
    @bunny – you are awesome!
    @chiara – thank you for the encouragement
    @ashley – whoa… i’m honored by your devotion!
    @abe – rooting for you, buddy
    @anne – that’s awesome! thank you. it really means a lot

    April 8, 2011 at 10:23 pm

  16. Pingback: Could I Be a Lead Singer in a Rock Band? and how to fight racism. (Music Monday) « DKDANIELKIM.com

  17. Ha… this is the first time I saw this!! I had no idea there was a contest. What a good fan am I!! 🙂

    April 18, 2011 at 3:08 pm

  18. I experimented with viewing your site in my iphone and the design does not seem to be correct. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellphone layouts are not really working with your web page.

    May 29, 2012 at 2:25 pm

Leave a Reply

