MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

3 Awesomely Bad Songs (Music Monday)

The last time I checked, “Friday” by Rebecca Black had over 81 millions hits on youtube.  That is just insane.  Never in the history of the world has something this bad, gotten so much attention.  Actually, I take that back.  Our society thrives on diverting all attention to all things bad (exhibit A: Charlie Sheen).  However, when all is said and done, this song may indeed be the most famous awesomely bad song ever.

Notice I said that “Friday” could be the most famous awesomely bad song ever.  This means that there are many, many other tunes out there that are not as well known but equally bad or far worse.  Now I understand that “bad” is a rather relative term but I think we can agree every once in a while when something is truly horrendous.  Here’s a few you may or may not have heard, and unfortunately, they are all songs that were written by people of a faith background:

The Breakfast Song

Of all the things that you could sing about in the “name of the Lord,” why breakfast?  Someone please get the poor woman a cot because she needs a nap, like right NOW!  These folks make heaven sound like a horrible place… no mo’ chicken?  No mo’ Cap’n Crunch?  No mo’ bacon?  Sounds like hell to me!  I’m hungry.  Let’s eat breakfast!

Jesus is My Friend

As forum bulletin boards like this one will show, there is speculation behind the authenticity of this song and video.  Either way, it is one of the most ridiculous songs I have ever heard and it is definitely worth a mention here.  Lucky for these guys, Jesus loves everybody and is a friend to anybody who needs one… and I’m sure these guys needed friends.

Dogs of Glory

This is a great example of creativity gone wrong.  The make-up is just a little too good and essentially takes this video from a G-rating to an “R” simply because of it’s immense fear factor.  Dude looks freaky and the whole performance scares the bejeebus out of me (but Jesus is here to stay!).  And just because you talk about God, Jesus and glory doesn’t necessarily mean your song has soul… this is unfortunate but true.

And finally: “HOWL-ELUJAH”??  Are you kidding me?  “HOWL-ELUJAH”???  That unholy concoction of a word alone makes this the worst song of all time … at least for me.

What about you?  Have any songs to add to the pot?  Hope you’re having a great start to your week!

(NOTE: this is supposed to be a fun post.  no offense to the writers of these songs and their relatives!)

3 responses

  1. Tracy

    Ohh myyyyy goodness….those videos were hilarious. How ever did you find them?? They blow Friday out of the water!

    April 4, 2011 at 9:03 am

  2. annyongbunny10

    lol thanks for the post, it helped cheer me up! ^_^
    where did you find these videos?
    a
    we i love my eating oatmeal, and drinking tea… XD

    oh my that 3rd vid scared the heck out of me,i just couldn’t watch the whole thing… O_O

    compared to Mr. Dog’s of Glory Days, I think Rebecca did a lot more better, sure she’s not the best singer but at least i could sit and watch the video without being creeped out of my mind. ;^^

    April 4, 2011 at 4:51 pm

  3. DK

    tracy- these are videos that I’ve across over the past couple years. I remember them for all the wrong reasons!

    bunny- yes, I think these videos put “Friday” in a more fair position on the list of bad songs!

    April 5, 2011 at 10:11 am

Leave a Reply

