MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

If I Was Rebecca Black’s Mentor (Music Monday)

By now, you have heard of Rebecca Black and her #1 hit single, “Friday.”  If you have not, it means you have been taking your “I’m fasting Youtube for Lent” thing very seriously.  Well done, congratulations, and may you be within earshot of God’s audible voice!

I saw her name floating around twitter last week so I decided to check out the youtube clip for myself and I was floored:

I literally did not know what to make of this song/video/artist. Was this all a joke? I wasn’t even trying to be mean when I asked my Twitter and Facebook friends what this was all about.

Turns out that this was an innocent project funded by her mother when she hired Ark Music Factory to give Rebecca a taste of the music biz.  A taste of the music business is what she got alright, and after 60 millions views on Youtube and counting, Rebecca Black is now a household name.  This, in most cases, would constitute an amazing success story but unfortunately, Rebecca is experiencing the ugliest side of life in the musical limelight.

I must admit that this could very well be the worst song of all time but I don’t know if that necessarily means that she needs to die, as many youtube low-lifers have suggested.  She seems like a sweet-enough teen and all she wanted to do was have some fun.

Enough hating. I think Rebecca could use some encouragement, don’t you?

If I was Rebecca’s mentor, what would I say to her?  Here are some possible pick-me-ups:

“Rebecca, remember that no matter how good you are at something, there is always someone better.  In the same vein, no matter how bad you are, there will always be someone worse than you as well.”

“Becka, there is no such thing as bad publicity.”

“Becky, there’s so much more to you than music.  Don’t limit yourself.”

“Bex, there are at the very least three people who love you and that’s all that matters: God, your mom, and Simon Cowell.”

“Yo, B!  I haven’t been able to get your song out of my head for the past 72 hours!”

“R.B., it’s Friday.  Let’s go kick it.  Forget about them losers.  By the way, yesterday was Thursday.  Tomorrow is Saturday.  In case you didn’t know.”

OK, so maybe some of these would be better left unsaid but it’s true that Rebecca could use some more love in her life right now.

In all seriousness: If you were Rebecca Black’s friend or mentor, what would you say to her?

6 responses

  1. annyongbunny10

    well at least the song doesn’t sound that bad playing backwards. so, why don’t we just try again and make it sound better going forwards. After all practice makes perfect… ^^

    March 28, 2011 at 6:48 pm

  2. Sadie

    awww this is sweet 🙂

    March 28, 2011 at 8:48 pm

  3. DK

    @bunny – that’s good, positive thinking!
    @sadie – thanks 😉

    March 29, 2011 at 1:42 pm

  4. Certainly I like your web site, however you need to check the spnleilg on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spnleilg problems and I find it very bothersome to tell you. However I’ll definitely come back again!

    March 11, 2013 at 10:53 pm

  5. UYiwLM dofcvjcugxlg

    March 12, 2013 at 6:42 am

  6. aXTLao cnicdmnneuvo

    March 12, 2013 at 6:43 am

Leave a Reply

