MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

Impossible Questions

“How do you love a child molester?”

That’s the question my wife asked last week after we watched this movie called Furious Love here in Mexico.

It’s a question that I have never bothered to ask, EVER, and I’m guessing that many of you out there hardly ever put such a sequence of words together.  LOVE!  CHILD MOLESTER?  Never.

The truth is, we know we’re supposed to love the homeless, the widows, the orphans, the druggies, the gangsters (or gangSTAs), the disabled, and the difficult.  We eventually come around to forgive the adulterer, the cheater, the liar, the thief and the occasional murderer (as long as it was an accident)… But a child molester?  Pedophile?  Rapist?  Trafficker?  Disgusting, unforgivable, unlovable.  These are the people who belong in Satan’s armpit.

When my wife asked this honest question, the people at the table were baffled, troubled, and unable to come up with a good, “loving” answer. 

I had no trouble answering at all.

I told my wife that I would beat the crap out of these kinds of people . . . and then I would consider loving them.

And then I was baffled just like everyone else.  After these people pay their dues, whether it be jail time or my fist, how in the world are we supposed to love them?

I am troubled because I know real love is not selective and it is unconditional. Real love reaches into the darkest depths, picks the very nose of Satan, dusts off the unholy boogers and clothes the sucker in a shiny robe.  But it’s never that easy, is it?

So what does this love look like?  (Especially when you or those closest to you are affected?)

How do you love the “unlovable”?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

8 responses

  1. anne

    hey daniel,
    great question and really important to answer and put to action. To put it quickly, I believe the heart of God aches, also , for the rich, the pedophiles, molesters and traffickers. They are depraved, just like us “non-deviants”. And the hope and love that the church can bring to facilitate transformation, through prayer and intercession, friendship!, is so necessary. I would LOVE to see prayer meetings be wholly devoted not only to the oppressed, but also to the oppressors, for their repentance and resuscitation. and that the Church would find themselves reminded of Compassion and mercy.
    friendship, friendship, friendship. let’s not forget the power of friendship.

    August 16, 2010 at 12:57 pm

  2. Awesome and extremely relevant. I believe that we as humans cannot love them. We just have to make the mental decision and resign ourselves to let God love them through us. I have prayed multiple time, “Lord, I know this person is your child, but I am having problems with my feelings toward them. Please allow your love to flow through me to them.”

    August 16, 2010 at 1:00 pm

  3. DK

    hey anne,

    thanks for chiming in! some real great thoughts there. i love the perspective that praying people should try praying for the oppressors in addition to the oppressed. such a practical and simple thing we can do to love. I agree with you that friendship is key. thanks for the great reminders!

    dk

    August 16, 2010 at 1:01 pm

  4. Subscribed

    August 16, 2010 at 1:05 pm

  5. DK

    justin,
    great to have you here. this perspective was mentioned in our table conversation last week as we had to admit that this type of love is Divine… we just don’t have it in us to love in this way. When love is poured out to the sick and twisted, you know that something truly miraculous took place. thx

    dk

    August 16, 2010 at 1:08 pm

  6. hyuk

    u ask some tough questions there buddy. i’m struggling just trying to love the pple around me. and they’re good pple, at least no molestors. liars at worst, white lies at that. i don’t think i can fathom such things while i hold onto myself so tight, and put myself above my fellow citizens. baby steps i suppose… one day i’ll learn to love my wife and kids. then my family and friends. then my neighbors. then all those in my city. and eventually the sick and the disgusting. i’m still on step 1. let me know when you reach nirvana.

    August 21, 2010 at 7:17 pm

  7. You can edit audio files with audacity.

    October 20, 2010 at 9:07 pm

  8. Pingback: The Unlovable | INHERITANCE magazine

Leave a Reply

