MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

the importance of holding on to dreams…loosely

it’s been a long time since I’ve blogged and I have several reasons for this: 1) i’ve been really busy figuring out what to do with my life, 2) i’ve been spending precious blogging time on Lakers basketball, Mad Men, NBC Thursday night comedies, Grey’s Anatomy (with the wife, I swear), and occasionally picking my nose– all in that order, and 3) haven’t been particularly pumped about my last few posts.  i wanted to come back with a vengeance.

to explain reason #1 listed above, i am in the middle of a crucial period in my life (exciting and scary) and rather than detailing that on this blog, i’d rather share my developing views on dreams.

i hope we all have dreams– aspirations, hopes, goals, etc.  There was a time when my dream(s) were clear as day and I thought nothing would make me happier than achieving them.

then a few things happened.  i got married.  I had a son.  i got comfortable with living in the safest and cleanest city in the world, and working a “job” that i enjoyed and came relatively easy to me.  i began to settle. i lost my edge.  i thought i was living out my dreams because i had achieved a level of comfort and predictability that met my family’s standards.  besides, i was living this life doing what i thought was “God’s work” and getting paid well below living-standards for the city in which i lived. in my opinion, i was living a meaningful, simple, and humble life.

i realized that dreams can change and it’s ok.  more often than not, our dreams come true in ways we’d least expect and that’s why we need to hold dreams loosely.  everything i do can be a step toward realizing my dream but it’s only when i hold my dream loosely that this can occur.

i settled early because i thought i achieved my dream.  i then realized that in some ways, my dream was too small and in other ways, too focused.

for now, i think it’s ok if i say that my dream is to change the world.  crazy, broad and big?  yes.  easy to achieve?  no.  how will i accomplish this?  i have no idea.  but i do know that i love people, i love music, i love creativity, and i love witnessing life-change.

i love recalibrating with this Proverb (16:9) – “in his heart a man plans his course but the Lord determines His steps”… I can dream all I want but it may not always take the shape I envision.  when I hold my dream loosely, I’m not saying that my dream is any less important or that i don’t want it as bad.  I’m essentially surrendering my exclusive picture of the dream and i’m leaving it open to interpretation, recognizing the moments when my dream is another step closer to realization.

6 responses

  1. steve gwon

    where ever God takes you with your dreams, i hope to see you still leading worship at Newsong. i know i’m being selfish but since i’ve returned to Newsong, the praise has been at the best when you are up there. i haven’t seen you in few services, and i was hoping that nothing happened. God has definitely used you to touch my life through the songs we sing. and i pray that you’ll be blessed, both financially and spiritually, for your service to the Lord.

    February 19, 2010 at 6:54 pm

  2. DK

    Thanks for your words Steve. Means a great deal to me. Newsong will always be home no matter what!

    February 19, 2010 at 8:18 pm

  3. Russ

    DK – really really like the post. Some of the things you shared brought me back to our conversation last summer. I share with you one of my favorite prayers by Henri Nouwen, which helped me through a season of yearning, dreaming, and uncertainty. Ironically, its from the book called “With Open Hands.”

    “Dear God,
    I am full of wishes,
    full of desires,
    full of expectations.
    Some of them may be realized, many may not,
    but in the midst of all my satisfactions
    and disappointments,
    I hope in you.
    I know that you will never leave me alone
    and will fulfill your divine promises.
    Even when it seems that things are not going my way,
    I know that they are going your way
    and that, in the end, your way is the
    best way for me.
    O Lord, strengthen my hope,
    especially when my many wishes are not fulfilled.
    Let me never forget that your name is Love.
    Amen.”

    February 27, 2010 at 12:57 am

  4. DK

    hey Russ…thanks for sharing! see you soon

    March 11, 2010 at 2:19 am

  5. Man, talk about reading my mail. I’ve known this part of the transition. Funny enough, I just posted about it a few days ago: http://theink.blogspot.com/2010/04/composing-symphony-pt-2.html

    Not trying to advertise, simply thought how much I’ve had my own version of these same questions.

    April 13, 2010 at 9:33 pm

  6. DK

    @kendall – awesome, dude! you can advertise all you want… just send over some royalty cash… j/k

    April 14, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Leave a Reply

