MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

To BE or DO? That is the question…

i feel troubled at times because i feel so far from where i need to be as a leader, husband, father, son, artist, and human being.

recently a really caring brother exposed a part of me that had been somewhat of a blind spot.  really made me think and i was brought to a place of, “man. I really suck.”

how in the world do you deal with all the things that you need to DO with all the things you need to BECOME?

both are extremely important and can happen simultaneously but i would argue that what you are BECOMING is ultimately more important than what you are DOING.

what do you think?  would love your wisdom and stories…

4 responses

  1. I don’t know that I have a great answer to this, and feel a bit awkward being the first to respond, but you seem to be speaking from a place of real frustration.

    We’re all clinging by our nails to the wood of the Cross, man. We’re all saved by Grace, every day, every minute. It’s all we have. We always fall short… I mean, we have dreams and expectations for ourselves because we need to aim towards something. And we look to Christ as our example because He showed us what God wanted from us… but we know we won’t be like Him. We just keep heading in that direction.

    I’m sure the people around you love you and are blessed by you every day. Other than that, you’re depending on Him, as we all are, to heal whatever you inadvertently hurt on the way.

    Peace.

    December 9, 2009 at 5:45 pm

  2. DK

    Amy- thanks for the encouragement. That’s the ultimate truth right? I want to hear of some journeys as we land on that bit of eternal truth through this post. Strong words for sure. Thanks

    December 9, 2009 at 6:20 pm

  3. I know exactly how you feel… I do so much stuff that sometimes I need to remind myself that’s not the most important thing

    December 10, 2009 at 11:03 am

  4. Sam

    Exactly man. You know my story. As I started looking at myself through how God sees me and sees me becoming, I am learning that the doing becomes more intentional and purposeful.

    I hope that makes sense.

    December 10, 2009 at 11:02 pm

Leave a Reply

