MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

street cred – why don’t we care more about it?

Street Cred – no one’s ever born with it… You earn it!

Recently I realized a new “greatest fear” after hearing this chilling statement dropped by Erwin McManus at the Unleashing Beauty conference in Irvine, CA last week (and I paraphrase):

“the more popular you become in the Church world, the less credible you become with the world at large”

I don’t know if that scares you church leaders but that freaks the crap out of me!

If we’re honest, many of us don’t mind the “popularity” that comes with increased influence in the Church realm– besides, the pay is not that great, our home lives are taking hits daily, why not take whatever perks come our way?  If the “perk” happens to be increased popularity, then so be it!  

I don’t want to be that guy, plain and simple. I’m not writing this because I think I’ve become popular (ask anyone if they know who I am and they’ll either tell you “never heard of him” OR if you ask a Korean dude, they’ll be like, “umm… I know like 10 Daniel Kim’s… and 5 of them are my cousins”)  and I’m not writing this to accuse anybody of running for the next Church Homecoming King/Queen crown– many leaders never asked for this “popularity” and with the social media tools that exist today, “popularity” is extremely widespread and relative.

What Erwin’s statement struck in me was a renewed desire to focus on what my life’s calling is.

I don’t think I was ever called to spend 40+ hours a week in a church office, only to spend days off in isolation from the world, “recovering” and avoiding “burn-out”.

I don’t think I was called to be too busy for my family.

I don’t think I was called to be too tired and unmotivated to know my neighbors because of a heavy ministry schedule.

I don’t think I was called to alienate any potential Twitter friends because my church jargon is too heavy and frequent in my TWEETS.

I don’t think I was called to worry about saving my “job” and “performing better” to increase offering flow and create more “income” for the church.

I AM called to spend more time with my family.

I AM called to be an advocate and activist for the poor and oppressed.

I AM called to have fun with people outside of my immediate circle.

I AM called to love people unlike me.

I AM called to be an artist.

I AM called to mobilize the Church to BE the church

I AM called to a life of quiet service

I AM called to interface, interact and befriend the world without any strings or agenda attached.

I need to be a little more concerned with street cred than I am with notoriety in any subculture.

What about you?  Does this strike a chord (big or small)?

9 responses

  1. Tony

    Amen brotha, amen. Thx for wriing!

    October 15, 2009 at 12:32 pm

  2. Amen to that

    October 15, 2009 at 12:44 pm

  3. Amy

    Jeah boy!

    October 15, 2009 at 1:03 pm

  4. Josh Chow

    Thanks for writing that. Very insightful and a warning I think we all need to hear.

    October 15, 2009 at 1:34 pm

  5. Leo Rapini

    Worddd

    October 15, 2009 at 3:27 pm

  6. Pingback: Who do you say I am « leo.from.brazil

  7. Pingback: Who? « leo.from.brazil

  8. I like this!

    October 15, 2009 at 4:27 pm

  9. DK

    thanks for the exclamations, folks! good to know that we’re all in this together!

    October 15, 2009 at 5:36 pm

Leave a Reply

