MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

my latest song: Unleash Beauty

just wrote this one this morning… still working out the verses but you can hear the chorus and bridge for now.

inspired by Newsong’s focus for the next year, Unleashing Beauty.  From Isaiah 58 with Isaiah 6:5 driving the bridge.

of course this song could change (drastically) by the time it is shared in a larger context but it’s definitely a joy to invite you into the process!

thanks for listening and please let me know what you think!

Lyrics so far:

(Chorus)

You will repair our land

As we declare your freedom

You will restore all hearts

To see your beauty

Let all eyes return

Let every mouth confess

That You are the Lord over all

Unleash Your beauty

(Bridge)

What can I do

I am one of unclean lips

My heart was astray

Yet my eyes have seen

The glory of the King

Lord, God Almighty

6 responses

  1. Tony

    Love it dude! Hope to hear it live soon!

    September 3, 2009 at 5:28 pm

  2. Sounds great! I love the two chapters in Isaiah that you’re drawing from. Since I’ve studied them recently, I have to ask- are you going to fill out some of their imagery in the verses? Is. 6:8 has always been powerful in my life: “Here am I, send me!”. And I just love all the justice stuff in Is. 58. Anyway, your sound is great- authentic and honest, which is what I appreciated from your leadership at the Idea Camp. Keep it up.

    September 4, 2009 at 7:01 am

  3. DK

    @tony – looks like we’ll be doing it THIS sunday!

    @bret – great that you stopped by! definitely working on fleshing out the imagery of chapter 58 in the verses of my song. seems like this song is turning out to be a paraphrase/”based-on” song rather than a direct adaptation. Justice NOW was based on Isaiah 58 so this chapter along with 6 is definitely dear to my heart. Thanks bra!

    September 4, 2009 at 12:42 pm

  4. Taty

    Man, this part right here brought tears to my eyes:

    You will repair our land
    As we declare your freedom
    You will restore all hearts
    To see your beauty

    really powerful

    September 4, 2009 at 2:41 pm

  5. Bradd

    Sounds great DK. Looking forward to hearing it live.

    September 4, 2009 at 3:36 pm

  6. DK

    hey taty, bradd,

    thanks for the encouragement!

    September 6, 2009 at 4:53 pm

Leave a Reply

