MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

my greatest accomplishment to date

DSC_0144

this is me and my son, Micah David Kim.  He is 6 months old right now and I couldn’t be a prouder father.  I refer to him as my CBITW, an acronym I made up just for him that stands for “Cutest Boy in the World”.  I still can’t believe that he’s my son and somehow, the combination of Sadie’s beauty and my unmatched charm (you know!) produced this masterpiece.  I assure you the picture above is real;   my dad used to do this to me and my brother when we were younger and when Micah flexed his legs in my grasp and this photo was captured, it was a surreal moment where past, present and future all came together at once.

While Micah was still in the womb, Sadie and I were at a conference where Tony Campolo was the speaker and there was a moment where Tony was sharing how from when he was very young, his mother would tell him that he would live to serve the poor.  I got chills at that moment because as much as I want Micah to be a dominant shooting-guard in the NBA and platinum-selling grammy award winner, I truly want Micah to live a life on behalf of the poor and marginalized.  The crazy part of this story is that right as Tony Campolo was sharing this and I was feeling the goosebumps, Micah started kicking in Sadie’s stomach!  I wanted to cry when Sadie told me this because it was God and Micah’s way of confirming this dream.  Micah seemed to be saying “yes!  that’s what I want my life to be about!” *kick*

Micah 6:8 is one of the coolest verses in the Bible and it is also our son’s Namesake: 

He has showed you, O man, what is good.  And what does the Lord require of you?  To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God

David, the middle name is significant for several reasons.  Sadie and I are both musicians and David in the Old Testament was a pretty prolific song-writer as well as someone who bore the title of a “man after God’s own heart”.  What a freakin’ amazing thing to be called.  David was flawed — committed adultery and murder at the same time– yet at the end of the day, God in His grace loved David and still used him to change the world.  We love that the name literally means “beloved”.  David is also the name of two real-life David’s who have been instrumental in shaping our lives the past couple years: Dave Gibbons and Dave Brubaker.  

So there you have it.  A little history and a prophetic hope on behalf of my 6-month-old masterpiece.  I’m so proud to be his father and I can’t believe I get to raise him in this life.  I’m tearing up as I write this.  He brings so much joy into our lives and he’s the purest thing in my life right now.  I hope he lives life to the fullest and he walks this earth like he owns the joint– only so that he can confidently serve and be a voice for the voiceless… and shoot 45% from behind the arc, and write some of the greatest rock anthems of his day.  

 

i believe you can fly, micah!

i believe you can fly, micah!

7 responses

  1. oh micah…why are you so cute?! and that video!!! ahhhh suuuper cute!

    i love the meaning behind his name and reading about all your hopes and dreams for micah as he grows up =)

    June 4, 2009 at 3:57 pm

  2. Elena

    as (what’s his name would say)…”a-to-the-men”!

    btw, that video is so cute and funny!

    June 4, 2009 at 4:07 pm

  3. useyourhed

    When I saw the title of this post I was like…better be Micah!

    Cute Boy. CBITW is right! Unless we have a son. But until then, the name can stick.

    Cute Boy!!!

    June 4, 2009 at 4:15 pm

  4. tracy

    Great entry! The story about Micah in Sadie’s tummy and tony campolos msg is ahhhh mazing! 🙂

    And the video is theeee cutestttt everrr! Sadie being Micah is awesome! I was laughing so hard hahahaha

    June 4, 2009 at 4:56 pm

  5. Sasha

    Thanks for the post, DK. It touched my heart deeply. Reading this, I can feel how much you love your son and your wife. It’s beautiful.

    June 4, 2009 at 5:56 pm

  6. soomp

    Great post, dk! I feel the same way, about the ceej being by far my greatest “accomplishment”, to the extent I had a hand in his general awesomeness – haha
    May Micah grow into his name 🙂

    June 5, 2009 at 9:48 am

  7. DK

    hey everyone, thanks for the reaction! i guess this goes to show that only mothers and future mothers can appreciate sentimental posts such as these! y’all are great aunties. men, where you at?!

    June 5, 2009 at 5:52 pm

Leave a Reply

