MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

updated american idol power rankings – disco, redemption, and a new #1

STAYING ALIVE. Just when I thought it was the end of the line for my boy, Matt Giraud, the judges decide to invest their one and only save on this chosen one and he lives another week! It made for great TV, didn’t it? I loved that the audience and fellow contestants got into it and made sure the judges did the right thing!

But before we go any further, let me say that there is a new #1 on this week’s list (GASP! Can it be?!); not because I don’t believe in Matt but because I believe this person has earned the right to be on top, at least for one week. My choice may surprise you . . .

I had my doubts about disco week because things could get really cheezy but overall, I thought this was a good show and the contest is definitely heating up! I can tell that the candidates are putting in more work and it’s starting to get really serious! What great timing, given that the NBA playoffs started this week and the Lakers have begun their quest towards the championship. It’s game time folks, and if you don’t bring it, you’re going home! and since Matt was spared last week, TWO will be going home this week! Get ready for some drama fo yo mama!

Oh! And let me also add that I think these Idol contestants are reading my blog since they took my advice this week… Matt went with the Fedora, Gokey went back to his glasses, etc. Coincidence? Perhaps, but let’s just imagine they read this blog since that’ll make us all feel better.

The top 7:

1. Kris Allen (previous rank: 6)

kris_allen_210x202 WHOA! Surprise of the century! Before you all jump to conclusions here, let me explain a few things: 1) I am not saying that Kris will win this thing, 2) I am not necessarily his fan now, 3) Kris may be here because he is the lesser of several evils and 4) I can no longer justify Matt at #1, even though he did much better tonight. I do acknowledge that the artist formerly known as the Human Chimpanzee is very talented and, as some of you have mentioned, may be one of the more “artistic” ones of the bunch. He is like last year’s David Cook; someone I did not like in the earlier rounds but couldn’t help but start getting behind because he just kept getting better and better. I didn’t like Kris the last couple of rounds but he is displaying a star quality now that shows he believes he got this thing. On another note, don’t you feel sorry for his wife? The cameras cut to her after every performance but you can tell she has a very hard time being proud of her man because every single woman in the crowd wants to go steady with him.

2. Matt Giraud (previous rank: 1)

matt_giraud_210x202 By putting Matt at number 2 for the first time this season, I am acknowledging that his time may be nearing an end! I still believe in him as an artist and I think he has what it takes, but the truth is, whatever he does at this stage of the competition may be too-little, too-late. Several people have leap-frogged him and I just can’t picture him in the top 3. Took me a while to admit this but it may have come time to! I’m just going to look forward to his future album which I want to repeat, will be a tasty mixture of Justin Timberlake and One Republic. No matter what happens… you my boy, blue! And yes, tasty is what I said.

3. Danny Gokey (previous rank: 2)

danny_gokey_210x202

The most consistent and steady force in this thing is Danny Gokey. However, I’ll tell you right now that he is not the next American Idol. He will be in the top 3 but this competition is between Kris and my number 4 below. Danny’s consistency is his greatest strength as well as weakness–he has remained steady, “remained” being the operative word here! Some career suggestions if Idol doesn’t pan out: 1) Be a spokesperson for how eye-glasses are making a comeback and Lasic surgery is overrated and dangerous, or 2) Come be the choir director at my church. That would be freakin’ sick!

4. Adam Lambert (previous rank: 4)

adam_lambert_210x202

One thing I will guarantee in these rankings is that you will NEVER see Adam at number 1. I will state, however, that this competition is his to lose. Week after week, the judges sing his praises and he’s never been in the bottom 3. The ladies want to hold his hand (and they don’t care that he has a boyfriend), certain heterosexual men have man-crushes on him, and it is apparent that the Idol producers will see to it that he wins this thing. He is the most annoying front-runner in history since Clay Aiken and he is the greatest deceiver of hearts since the serpent in the Garden of Eden. America is taking a bite of the apple and soon she will see that Adam is the very embodiment of indulgent non-sense.

5. Allison Iraheta (previous rank: 3)

allison_iraheta_210x202

Allison deserves to be higher but this is turning out to be an all-male competition. In other words, it’s a singer’s sausage fest. I don’t know if you’ve noticed but she is developing more of a personality and she has also been one of the more consistent artists. I’d be happy to see her in the top 3 but I can’t see her cracking the top 2. Allison is good and I think she has the potential to be a great front-woman for the next great female-led rock band. Ooh, and I just noticed that her initials are A.I. How appropriate.

6. Anoop Desai (previous rank: 5)

anoop_desai_210x202

Anoop will be going home in the next couple weeks, if not today. He is just the odd-man out but he’s certainly had a good run. I’m proud of him representing the (central) Asians and I’m sure new doors will be opening for him. Can’t you see him and Russell Peters doing the first comedy/music tour? I’m not a stereotypical jerk. I just know how this world works. If I was on Idol, people would probably say things like, “Hey! DK should totally team up with Jackie Chan for his next movie soundtrack!” Gee, thanks fellas.

7. Lil Rounds (previous rank: 7)

lil_rounds_210x202

OK, so I mean this in the most non-sexual, non-objectifying way possible but Lil Rounds has got a BIG BUTT. I just realized that her name is a complete oxy-moron because there is nothing Lil about her Rounds. Just an observation but wouldn’t you agree. In any case, Lil Rounds is a shoe-in to be eliminated tonight along with either Anoop or Matt. I hope Matt stays one more week, though! Lil needs to be put out of her misery and it will serve everyone well. I can see Sir Mix-a-Lot knocking on her door for a classier remake of “Baby Got Back.”. Do it.

My bold predictions:

Bottom 3– Matt, Anoop, and Lil. Last 2 go home.

Final 2– Kris and Adam. I’m not completely happy with this but it’s going to happen.

Thoughts??

9 responses

  1. soomp

    YESSSSS!!!! I WIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    i knew you would come around
    you are a rational young man
    who knows good music when he hears it
    hahahahhahahahahah!! victory!!!

    anyways
    next time you’re online, i’ll send you last week’s “once”

    i totally agree with your bold prediction – at least that’s the way it SHOULD go down, which means, it probably won’t go down that way :O

    thanks for another great read 🙂

    April 22, 2009 at 4:29 pm

  2. Amy

    I was thinking yesterday, “I wonder if Kris A. will finally make it into DK’s #1 rank this week” and he did! What did I say? Most creative/original. Jeah. I’m not saying he’ll win either but I think he’s the “real artist” compared to most everyone else. Gokey’s vocals still rock the house.

    April 22, 2009 at 4:34 pm

  3. Brad

    I didn’t find Clay annoying, I voted for him like crazy, but Adam makes my skin crawl.

    April 22, 2009 at 9:03 pm

  4. rebecca kim

    i totally agree that it will be a kris v. adam finish with kris winning (i hope). adam has the judges wrapped around his finger but is his album one i’d buy? no way! i can’t even imagine what kind of album he would produce…he would need a band and be its lead singer. on the other hand, i can definitely see what kind of album kris would produce and i think i would buy it. i love anoop but he’s been inconsistent. i’m not really into allison. danny started out strong and is fizzling out–but i still love his voice! lil and anoop will leave tonight!

    btw, did you know kris is also a worship leader at his church and he has gone on several missions trips, including thailand? what a coincidence! have you considered ever auditioning for idol? benjie, gav and i would definitely vote for you!

    April 22, 2009 at 9:04 pm

  5. rebecca kim

    ok, so i said i wouldn’t buy adam’s album but i must confess that i did buy his mad world single on itunes. that was awesome.

    April 22, 2009 at 9:05 pm

  6. DK

    @soomp – I’m glad you get such a kick out of seeing Kris at #1. The unlikely has happened! I was off on my bottom 3 for this week though, which is a good thing since Matt survives another week!
    @amy – see above. Yes, Kris A. is tops.
    @brad – you voted for Clay like crazy? wow.
    @rebecca – i generally agree with your takes! i think you have a good ear for music. I didn’t know those things about Kris Allen! I guess my respect for him goes up just a tad. I considered auditioning for Idol once… but it was just a bad April Fools joke!

    April 22, 2009 at 11:13 pm

  7. Dre'

    Lil’ Rounds was my pick of course.Gotta show love to the Sexy Big Booty Sistas with true talent! Move over Beyonce’ is what I thought when I first saw ,and heared her.Now,I’m sure she will get a record deal with any Producer who is not Blind,and Deaf! She got the look,and the pipes.She just needs the deal.American Idol will NEVER have another dark skinned black female finalist ever again…Fantasia was the last.Let’s keep it real, Dark Skinned Black Women are just not marketable as pop singers.

    April 23, 2009 at 9:13 am

  8. i’m still pulling for Danny, though I admit he needs to turn it up a notch at this point in the season

    April 24, 2009 at 11:48 pm

  9. Pingback: special american idol power rankings – the best of the reviews « DKmusic.tv

Leave a Reply

