MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

updated american idol power rankings – let’s get singing tips from Quentin Tarantino week!

 

I’m baaack!  And I’d like to say that I’m better than ever but that’s not true because this week’s show pretty much sucked.  My rankings may reflect this sentiment since I’ve had very little material to go off of.  I think I could even make everything up without having watched the show because there were no real surprises this week and the way I would’ve ranked everyone last week is pretty much how I’d rank them this week–except for a few minor changes.  All in all, this was a very forgettable week and I almost missed Scott MacIntyre since I would have at least had something to be really angry about.  Almost.

And what’s up with bringing in Quentin Tarantino as the guest vocal coach?  I understand he was focused on bringing the “performance” out of the artists but still!  What does he know about singing?  It’s like bringing Rosie O’Donnell on as a guest coach on “The Biggest Loser”–just doesn’t make any sense and this type of thing does not help with a contestant’s confidence, especially when the coach’s credibility is highly in doubt!

Please kick off a judge!  Preferably Paula.  The whole 2-at-a-time judging to save time was completely useless!  Contract or no contract, the producers need to restore this to a 3-judge competition next season, if not sooner.  

Hope you all had a great easter… I’m gonna take this moment to ask you to log on to global.newsong.net tonight (Wednesday, April 15) at 7 PM PST to see the re-broadcast of our Easter experience at Newsong Irvine this past Sunday.  It was truly incredible and you gotta check it out!  Look for the John Legend tune, complete with choir!  The guy in the plaid button down would be me…

Now on to the rankings!  

the top 7:

1.  Matt Giraud (previous rank: 1)

matt_giraud_210x202  Matt is starting to worry me and he is in danger of not only losing the #1 spot in my rankings but of being eliminated from this competition altogether if he doesn’t get in the zone immediately.  Matt’s been my guy from day 1 so this is my way of rallying behind him, even though he deserves to be lower based on last night’s performance.  One week he is brilliant, the next week he picks a rock tune and screws it all up again.  Is it just me or does it seem like Matt’s forehead pimple/mole gets larger and more glaring when he doesn’t do well?  For this and other reasons, Matt needs to wear the fedora every week because he also seems to do better with it on… it’s like Linus’ blanket or Samson’s hair… or Danny Gokey’s glasses!

2.  Danny Gokey (previous rank: 3)

danny_gokey_210x202Speaking of which, where were Danny’s glasses last night?  I can’t make my mind up on this.  On one hand, I felt that it did help with his image a little bit–contact lenses can do wonders for one’s self-image as I experienced in 8th grade; it was my own “She’s All That” moment — but on the other hand, Danny decided to divert from his usual calling card and that, to me, is a bit risky.  In an episode as bland as yesterday’s, I was looking forward to checking out his latest designer frames, but instead found myself trying to make up my mind on whether or not I like his new look.  I don’t even remember his performance.  Verdict: wear Gucci or Prada next week and lose the Bausch and Lomb.

3.  Allison Iraheta (previous rank: 2)

allison_iraheta_210x202

Allison’s performance was shaky, but so was everyone else’s last night so she remains at the top here.  If the final 2 in this competition came down to Allison and Matt, I’d be a happy man.  The way things have been going though, I have a suspicion that it will probably end up between Danny and Adam–my bold final prediction.  If Allison can get her social skills up to speed, she can get pretty high but sadly I don’t see her cracking the top 2.  

4.  Adam Lambert (previous rank: 4)

adam_lambert_210x202

I am now completely impervious to Adam’s vocal prowess.  It’s the same thing every time and it really bugs me that the judges never call him out on this!  If I was a judge, my comments every week would sound like this: “Adam, you’re a great singer but I don’t think you’re right for this competition.  You have no soul, your falsetto is pitchy and you need to develop a mid-range game…. stop booing me!”  I am getting very tired of Adam’s all-or-nothing approach to singing.  It’s always either screaming mayhem or “tender” falsetto and both are equally annoying now.  There is a grey area he needs to work on– things are not always black and white… right, Christians?  

5.  Anoop Desai (previous rank: 5)

anoop_desai_210x202

I don’t know if you noticed but Anoop seemed to be the most annoyed about getting singing tips from Quentin Tarantino.  He had this look like, “uh…ok.  whatever you say, crazy guy.”  Consequently, he completely disregarded the “advice” he received and did a pretty average job on one of my favorite songs from Middle School… and no, I’m not talking about “Whoomp, There it Is.”  Anoop needs to be a bit more “teachable” if he’s going to advance in this competition because even though he’s a good singer, he’s not a good performer at all.  Did he learn nothing from his Usher debacle?  

6.  Kris Allen (previous rank: 6)

kris_allen_210x202 Kris is crumbling before our very eyes, America.  For 2 weeks in a row, Kris reminded me why I had him near the bottom of my rankings in the earlier stages.  When Kris doesn’t do well, he looks more like a chimpanzee to me and less like the American Idol.  When Kris doesn’t do well, the ladies still vote for him.  Never mind that he’s married and his wife is at every show– Kris has found favor with America’s teeny boppers but not with me.  You can’t sing “Falling Slowly” (from the movie “Once” and one of the greatest songs of the past couple years) that way and butcher it the way Kris did and not get in the bottom 3.  Let justice roll like a river.

7.  Lil Rounds (previous rank: 7)

lil_rounds_210x202

It’s time for Lil to go.  What happened to her?  This is one of the greatest mysteries to me.  Once the favored heir to motown, she now seems completely lost every time she hits the stage and seems to be the least capable of handling the judge’s “constructive” comments.  Defensive people don’t do too well in life, marriage, and American Idol.  It’s pretty sad what has taken place but I think deep down, Lil would be happy to go home.  She seems miserable after every show!  

BOLD PREDICTION:

Lil, Matt, and Anoop in the bottom 3.  Lil goes home.  Or is it Anoop?  

Take my poll and then leave a comment!

8 responses

  1. soomp

    best (by which i mean WORST) line of the night FOR ME:
    ”Yo, Kris. All right, so check it out man. Uh, dude, for me…for me, for you tonight dude, I gotta tell you somethin’ man, I don’t know, I didn’t — it never quite caught on — for me. And I love, and yo, I love…I love that song. But for me it was pitchy from note one for me. For me!”

    the first couple lines of FALLING SLOWLY worried me, but i thought he’d redeemed it by the end — i didn’t LOVE the performance, but i was immediately curious on how the studio version turned out – i think i shall go purchase it right now!

    as for everyone else – yeah, last nite’s was a snoozer, not at all helped by the fact that AI has been pushed to #2 in my heart, after the k-drama BOYS BEFORE FLOWERS — hahahahahhahahahahaha (tell sadie to watch it!!)

    sorry dk, but i think matt is really living dangerously, and you are right about the anomaly on his forehead. he is either great or not great. and unfortunately, the ratio is about 2:3, and that just isn’t good enough at this point in the competition.. doh!

    you know who allison sounds like? PINK. that’s the realization i came to last nite when i heard a pink song on the radio. PINk with more ooomph. pink with more chops. anyhow, my point being she can be a very relevant and awesome rock girl. especially since gwen stefani jumped ship, and pink’s songs kinda suck.

    seriously though, what in the world happened to lil rounds? i mean, every one has bad weeks, but she ONLY has bad weeks. i’ll be pretty mad if she doesn’t leave tonite, though who knows how the cookie will crumble.

    “I am now completely impervious to Adam’s vocal prowess.” that is a perfect description of how i feel!

    well-written as always!! except for your #6, of course ^_~

    April 15, 2009 at 11:51 am

  2. Pingback: ceejy peejy » American Idol Top 7: Movie Night

  3. tracy mo

    DK-

    Don’t hate on Kris & Anoop! I thought their performances from last night weren’t too bad at all (then again, maybe I’m viewing them through foggy glasses….I forget what the saying is..so I made up my own).

    Lil NEEDS to go…I’ve been over her forever..haha

    And I totally DON’T care for Adam. I understand that he’s a great performer and what not, but I just don’t care for his style at all…

    Danny’s performance made me cry..because I was thinking in my head the whole time he was singing (actually whenever he sings love songs), how hard it must be to sing those songs thinking about his wife…wahhh!! 😦

    April 15, 2009 at 12:04 pm

  4. Paul Steinkraus

    Generally agree with your assessment, DK, particularly in regard to Adam, whom the judges repeatedly have signalled as the deserving winner of this year’s competition. (Enough with the Steven Tyler screeches already.) I picked Danny Gokey to win from the first time I saw him, but lately he’s been blanding out. Still, of the remaining contestants, he should end up in the finals showdown against Adam. My prediction for the bottom three this week: Lil, Anoop and Matt, with Lil being the one to say bye-bye at the end of the night.

    April 15, 2009 at 12:54 pm

  5. DK

    @soomp and @tracy — I understand your love for Kris but I’m just not feeling him. Who knows, next week he may be my new number 1? That’s how outta control this thing could get! Allison is similar to Pink, I agree, and I think she’ll do really well with her records.
    @Paul– all your predictions are in line with my predictions. I like it when people agree with me. way to go!

    April 15, 2009 at 4:22 pm

  6. Dave Brubaker

    Here’s the thing: I used to think Matt was a poor man’s Justin Timberlake, now I think he’s just a poor man. I don’t know, maybe I’m just biased because one of my best friend’s has the biggest man-crush in history on Adam, sorry but I REFUSE to divulge his identity (it’s KC). Seriously don’t underestimate the power of a man-crush to propel someone all the way to runner-up (see: Clay Aiken, Justin Guarini).

    Word to Anoop’s eyebrows, I’m out.

    April 18, 2009 at 1:26 am

  7. I love how they keep saying “This is the most groundbreaking, shocking American Idol ever” … every week

    April 25, 2009 at 9:12 pm

  8. Pingback: special american idol power rankings – the best of the reviews « DKmusic.tv

Leave a Reply

