MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

updated american idol power rankings – the short version

Hey guys,

I know this is a sorry excuse but due to my busier-than-normal week, I don’t think I’ll be able to spend the time that I normally do on my Idol posts. Just keepin it real!  So I decided I will just highlight a couple points, give you my rankings (without much of a blurb) and call it a day!  I will return to form next week though, so hang with me on this.  

In other news, if you’re in the Orange County, CA area and you would like to check out a church, you’re more than welcome to join our Easter experience at Newsong this Sunday.  This is the reason I’m so busy, and quite frankly, this is the reason why I love what I do, so come check it out!  

Highlights:

  • SCOTT MACINTYRE is finally eliminated!  HOORAY!  Time to pop the bubbly and get crazy!  The funny thing is, the day after he is eliminated my first post on Scott has been blowing up!  I guess people are googling him like crazy and landing on my site.  
  • Last week, I mentioned how I was going to try out for American Idol in 2010.  Sure, it was my attempt at a lame April fools joke but none of you even made a peep about this.  This tells me that either you skip over my opening paragraphs every week, OR the very notion of me trying out for Idol is THAT ridiculous so you immediately concluded this was a joke, April fools or no April fools.  Either way, I’m deeply insulted!  
  • MATT GIRAUD rocked it this week! 

On to my rankings (and again, this is the REALLY short, quick version):

1.  Matt Giraud

2.  Allison Iraheta

3.  Danny Gokey

4.  Adam Lambert

5.  Anoop Desai

6.  Kris Allen

7.  Lil Rounds

8.  Scott Macintyre


Thoughts?  Apologies?  


6 responses

  1. soomp

    what!!!!! i made a peep about your (non)idol-ambitions!!

    i CAN’T believe that simon gave glambert a standing-O. i don’t think he’s ever done that in the history of idol, has he??? my dvr completely cut off adam’s performance, so i saw it online the next day. i tried just listening to it and not watching, thinking maybe it’s the faces he makes when he sings that turns me off, and let me tell you, that wasn’t it. i thought it was sooooooooooooooooooo whatev — i hate falsetto, and pitchy falsetto is the worst! so i just don’t understand the world’s love affair with him… boohoooh

    anyways, matt definitely tore it up last nite, as i knew he would when they announced the song. he needs that kind of song where he can riff it up and down the block. that means no more emo-y pop songs of today, homie!!

    good luck with all the easter prep!!! i can say i don’t miss that one bit 😀

    April 9, 2009 at 4:15 pm

  2. DK

    @soomp! yes, you did make a peep but I guess I was referring to the other so-called readers who bounce around the walls of my blog without making any noise… like they were ninjas or something!

    I totally agree with you on Adam and that standing-O by Simon can only be explained by the producers offering Simon a hefty bonus if he would only pimp their apparent chosen one for season 8. That’s my conspiracy theory. That falsetto is pretty wiggedy-wack….

    Speaking of standing O, I literally stood up from my couch and clapped after Matt’s performance. I was so proud of him!

    April 9, 2009 at 4:27 pm

  3. akoosticman

    hey guess what i’m gonna try out for american idol next year 🙂

    April 10, 2009 at 7:40 am

  4. DK

    @akoosticman – I’ll be rooting for you, Koo! April fools or no April fools

    April 11, 2009 at 11:15 am

  5. tracy mo

    hey…if i remember correctly…a certain group of 3 girls..aka the stooges..tried to get you to audition for AI back in college..hahaha

    April 13, 2009 at 11:02 pm

  6. DK

    haha… yeah, i remember that Tracy. I would NEVER, EVER try out for more reasons than one!

    April 14, 2009 at 8:01 pm

Leave a Reply

