MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

5 movies you must see (again) with a new lens – #4. CLICK

A good friend, Alex Gee, once called Adam Sandler one of the greatest modern-day prophets of our time.  Though this may sound like an absurd statement to most of you, the more I dig in to the depth of overlooked profundity in  Sandler’s films, the more I agree with Alex!  Don’t let the “abby doobees” and the silly singing fool you. . . this boy is a genius.  Besides, his movies provide the most quotable quotes outside of “Dumb and Dumber” for me and my group of buddies!  

“Click,” for me, was one of those movies that left me in my seat for an extra minute as the credits rolled up because I had to let my brain catch up to what my heart was feeling.  It was that profound and it had a pretty big impact on me.  If you’re a busy person, you need to watch this movie.  Seriously.  Stop reading this blog and watch this movie… especially if you’re one of those super-driven pastor types who struggle with priorities, this Bud’s for you. . .

what you may have liked about it: Adam Sandler is an ambitious businessman who struggles to balance all the things in his life while looking for that next promotion.  He somehow comes across a magical remote control that allows him to “click” through life’s events to fit his convenience.  If you’re a fan of universal remote controls, this movie will really turn you on.  

why you may NOT have liked it: 1) You thought this movie was just like all of the other Sandler movies (not true), 2) You have an irrational hatred for Henry Winkler or Christopher Walken, both of whom make extensive appearances in the film, 3) You felt guilty and/or convicted to change after the many gut-check moments in the movie but later realized it’s too much work to change so you made an effort instead to hate the movie and say, “eh… it’s a Sandler film… what does he know?”  Big mistake, friend.  

what you may have missed: this was not your typical Sandler film in that the intense scenes are actually very intense and thought-provoking.  There is the obvious theme of “life is short, know your priorities” but there is also a more subtle theme of the importance of keeping a child-like spirit and heart.  That’s the part of the movie that really gets to me and most people may overlook!  

key scene: the most powerful part of the movie is near the end when Adam Sandler’s character “clicks” to the future and bears witness to a scene between him and his dad (played by Henry Winkler, a.k.a. Fonzie). Future Adam is super busy while his dad comes through the door of his office to invite him to a boy’s night out just like the good ol’ days.  Adam is so busy and annoyed, he completely ignores and blows off his dad’s offer.  In a last ditch effort, his dad offers to reveal the secret of the “quarter trick” he used to perform for Adam when he was a kid if only Adam will go out with him.  The moment turns really ugly and sad as Adam responds with something like “I already know how to do the stupid trick!  I’ve ALWAYS known!”  Daddy Winkler immediately looks dejected, apologizes for interrupting and begins to walk out of the office after telling his son “I love you”.  Present day Adam, completely pissed off at his future self, presses rewind and replays his dad’s “I love you” to future Adam over and over while crying and apologizing to his future dad who obviously can’t hear him.  It is incredibly sad and brutal, and if you didn’t feel at least a bit of emotion during that scene, dare I say, you need to visit the Wizard for a new heart, tin boy.  I explain what this scene means to me below but first. . . 

verses that come to mind: 

Psalm 46:10
“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

Matthew 18:3
And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”

final thoughts: this movie, and particularly that scene I described above, taught me the importance of keeping a child-like heart.  This topic is dear to me because I really believe that cynicism is killing America and it is the arch nemesis of hopes and dreams everywhere.  I really believe that part of the reason why Jesus said we have to be like children to enter the kingdom of heaven (strong words, no?) is because heaven was made for those who are hopeful, dependent, quick-to-love, trusting, and innocent (though not necessarily perfect) as children are.  You want to meet a citizen of heaven?  Consider the beautiful sides of children.  When Adam’s character rejected his father’s offer of spending time together along with the offer to reveal the wonders of the coin trick, it was a sad commentary on the state of adulthood today and the overrated value of “having it all together” or being “mature”.  

This movie made me wonder if I still had my sense of wonder.  I hope that for the sake of my soul, I will always be impressed by the “coin trick” that once captured my heart and imagination.  I hope my eyes are still dazzled by the little miracles and hopeful dreams that are placed in my life, daily… not because I’m too stupid or naive to know any better, but because I choose a child-like spirit to lead me in a life that’s often too cool for school and too easily forgets about the dreams of its youth.  Hope you’ll join me in this venture.  Thanks for the prophetic word, Adam Sandler.

2 responses

  1. JT Kim

    I concur! Adam Sandler is freakin’ genius! Have you seen Reign Over Me?! That movie almost made my tear ducts leak some fluids (which NEVER happens these days!).

    I like your movie dissections. I’ve always wanted to write something similar about Braveheart because I’ve gleaned golden nuggets of wisdom from that movie that the masses seem to have overlooked. Anyways, looking forward to the rest of the lineup!

    March 23, 2009 at 5:04 pm

  2. DK

    thanks bro… can’t wait to read up on Braveheart!

    March 23, 2009 at 5:17 pm

Leave a Reply

