MUSIC, LEADERSHIP, CULTURE… and humor (sometimes)

5 movies you must see (again) with a new lens – THE INTRO

Some of you know that my wife and I spent nearly 2 glorious years in Bangkok,Thailand from 2003 to 2005 to help start a Newsong there.  Unlike Charles Dickens in A Tale of Two Cities, this period for us was the best of times, and again, was the best of times.  We experienced a little bit of heaven on earth and it was as if we went through the wardrobe to experience Narnia.  (Wow, those are 2 more literary references than I was originally planning on alluding to…I sound smart.)  Part of the reason our experience there was so great is because of the ways that we viewed the world, God, and spirituality had changed in a major way.  We no longer viewed things in boxes but acquired a broader scope and lens to see things in a new light!  

One of the major things that changed for me is how I see movies and I credit this in large part to one of my best friends in the whole world, Dave Brubaker.  Y’all gotta get to know him some day.  He’s one of the world’s best-kept secrets, and a guy who’s changing the world, one person at a time… seriously.  He taught me how to meet Jesus in movies and that’s no joke.  Every time I see a movie now, I expect to be spoken to in a fresh, meaningful and spiritual way… unless it’s one of those stupid “Not Another (insert genre here) Movie” flicks in which case I just come out of the movie feeling like I wasted my life and decent brain cells.  “House Bunny” was one of the worst films in the history of cinema and don’t ask me how or why I saw it.  

So I wanted to highlight 5 MOVIES YOU MUST SEE WITH A NEW LENS and because of the length of these “reviews”, I will space them out over a few days.  These are movies that most people have probably seen already but for one reason or another have “discounted” or even shrugged off (benignly but a careless move nonetheless) as just 1) an overly-hyped but really good movie (Slum Dog Millionaire), 2) a cool modern Batman adaptation, acted-well-by-Heath-Ledger-film (Dark Knight), 3) a cute, “kids'” movie (Cars), 4) another typical Adam Sandler flick (Click), and finally, 5) a hilarious  movie where Jack Black plays a hispanic wannabe wrestler (Nacho Libre).  My contention is that these movies contain a message a little deeper than the general public perceived or the makers even intended!  My takes may seem like a stretch but keep an open mind and be ready to go to “church” with me on these!

So there’s my outline for you.  The 5 movies I will talk about are:

5.  Nacho Libre

nacho_libre_ver2

4.  Click

3.  Cars  


2.  Dark Knight

1.  Slum Dog Millionaire


So before you read on, here’s a few things to consider: 

  1. If you have not seen some or any of these movies, you may want to minimize this screen and run to your nearest blockbluster, or log on to netflix, bit torrent (not condoning piracy here but do what you gotta do) and see the movie(s) NOW… or in the case of “Slum Dog,” you may want to just run to your nearest Edwards or AMC (or again, bit torrent… with hesitation) and watch it…
  2. …the reason being that the upcoming entries contain MAJOR SPOILERS.  I’d rather you reach your own reflections and thoughts before you read mine….
  3. … however, if you’re the type that would rather adopt the opinions of others as your own, or you saw the movies already, or you just flat-out don’t care and you want me to get on with these stupid entries…. READ ON…the first entry will be on Nacho Libre….!  

dk

3 responses

  1. Pingback: 5 movies you must see (again) with a new lens - #5. NACHO LIBRE « DKmusic.tv

  2. Pingback: 5 movies you must see (again) with a new lens - #3. CARS « DKmusic.tv

  3. Pingback: NachoLibre | Images Archive

Leave a Reply

